The UPSC Optional Syllabus for Oriya is as given below:

Oriya Literature Syllabus – Civil Services Mains Exam UPSC :
Optional Subject consists of 2 papers. Each paper is of 250 marks, making a total of 500 marks.
(Answers must be written in Oriya) Section-A
History of Oriya Language
(1) Origin and development of Oriya Language-Influence of Austric, Dravidian, Perso-Arabic and English on Oriya Language.
(2) Phonetics and Phonemics : Vowels, Consonants Principles of changes in Oriya sounds.
(3) Morphology : Morphemes (free, bound compound and complex), derivational and inflectional affixes, case inflection, conjugation of verb.
(4) Syntax : Kinds of sentences and their transformation, structure of sentences.
(5) Semantics-Different types of change in meaning Euphemism.
(6) Common errors in spellings, grammatical uses and construction of sentences.
(7) Regional variations in Oriya Language (Western, Southern and Northern Oriya) and Dialects (Bhatri and Desia).
History of Oriya Literature
(1) Historical backgrounds (social, cultural and political) of Oriya Literature of different periods.
(2) Ancient epics, ornate kavyas and padavalis.
(3) Typical structural forms of Oriya Literature (Koili, Chautisa, Poi, Chaupadi, Champu).
(4) Modern trends in poetry, drama short story, novel, essay and literary criticism.
(Answers must be written in Oriya)
Critical Study of texts –
The paper will require first hand reading of the text and test the critical ability of the candidate.
Poetry :
1. Sãralã Das-Shanti Parva from Mãhãbharãta.
2. Jaganãth Das-Bhãgãbate, XI Skandha-Jadu Avadhuta Sambãda.
3. Dinãkrushna Dãs-Rasakallola-(Chhãndas-16 & 34)
4. Upendra Bhanja-Lãvanyabati (Chhãndas-1 & 2)
5. Rãdhãnãth Rãy-Chandrabhãgã
6. Mãyãdhãr Mãnasinha-Jeevan Chitã
7. Satchidãnanda Routray-Kabitã-1962
8. Ramãkãnta Ratha-Saptama Ritu.
Drama :
9. Manoranjan Dãs-Kãtha-Ghodã
10. Bijay Mishra-Tata Niranjanã
Novel :
11. Fakir Mohan Senãpati-Chhamãna Ãthaguntha
12. Gopinãth Mohanty-Dãnãpãni
Short Story :
13. Surendra Mohãnty-Marãlãra Mrityu
14. Manoj Dãs-Laxmira Abhisara
Essay :
15. Chittaranjan Dãs-Taranga O Tadit (First five essays).
16. Chandra Sekhar Rath-Mun Satyadhãrma Kahuchhi (First five essays)

Also Read: Gujarati Syllabus for UPSC CSE

Content Protection by

Tagged in:

About the Author

Payal Ghosh

Payal is an FRM and an XLRI Jamshedpur alumnus interested in things as diverse as Waste Management and photography. She has over 16 years of work experience and is passionate about writing, teaching and sustainable living. Helping students and seeing them succeed makes gives her motivation to push herself further.

View All Articles