The UPSC Syllabus for Assamese is as given below:

Assamese Literature Syllabus – Civil Services Mains Exam UPSC :
Optional Subject consists of 2 papers. Each paper is of 250 marks, making a total of 500 marks.
(Answers must be written in Assamese)
(a) History of the origin and development of the Assamese language-its position among the Indo-Aryan
Languages – periods in its history.
(b) Developments of Assamese prose.
(c) Vowels and consonants of the Assamese languages-rules of phonetic changes with stress on Assamese
coming down from Old Indo-Aryan.
(d) Assamese vocabulary-and its sources.
(e) Morphology of the language-conjugation-enclitic definitives and pleonastic suffixes.
(f) Dilectical divergences-the standard colloquial and the Kamrupi dialect in particulars.
(g) Assamese scripts-its evolution through the ages till 19th century A.D.
Literary Criticism and Literary History
(a) Principles of Literary criticism upto New criticism.
(b) Different literary genres.
(c) Development of literary forms in Assamese.
(d) Development of literary criticism in Assamese.
(e) Periods of the literary history of Assam from the earliest beginnings, i.e. from the period of the
charyyageets with their socio-cultural background : the proto Assamese-Pre-Sankaradeva – Sankaradeva-post
Sankaradeva – Modern period (from the coming of the Britishers)-Post-Independence period. Special
emphasis is to be given on the Vaisnavite period, the gonaki and the post-Independence period.
This paper will require first-hand reading of the texts prescribed and will be designed to test the
candidates’ critical ability.
[Answers must be written in Assamese]Section-A
Rãmãyana (Ayodhya Kãnda only) – by Madhava Kandali.
Pãrijãt-Harana – by Sankaradeva.
Rãsakrïdã – by Sankaradeva (From Kirtana Ghosa).
Bargeet – by Madhavadeva
Rãjasûya – by Madhavadeva.
Kãthã-Bhãgavata (Books I and II) – by Baikunthanath Bhattacharyya.
Gurucarit-Kathã (Sankaradeva’s – ed. by Maheswar Neog
Part only)
Mor Jeevan Soñwaran – by Lakshminath Bezbaroa.
Kripãbar Barbaruãr Kãkatar Topola – by Lakshminath Bezbaroa.
Pratimã – by Chandra Kumar Agarwalla.
Gãoñburhã – by Padmanath Gohain Barua.
Monamatî – by Rajanikanta Bordoloi.
Purani Asamîyã Sãhitya – by Banikanta Kakati.
Kãrengar Ligirî – by Jyotiprasad Agarwalla
Jeevanar Bãtat – by Bina Barwa (Birinchi Kumar Barua)
Mrityunjoy – by Birendrakumar Bhattacharyya
Samrãt – by Navakanta Barua.
Content Protection by

Tagged in:

About the Author

Payal Ghosh

Payal is an FRM and an XLRI Jamshedpur alumnus interested in things as diverse as Waste Management and photography. She has over 16 years of work experience and is passionate about writing, teaching and sustainable living. Helping students and seeing them succeed makes gives her motivation to push herself further.

View All Articles