Press Enter

Share with your friends and help them crack UPSC!

Or Share on


Correct Option is None

There are two types of cabinet committees: Standing Cabinet Committees which are permanent in nature with a specific job. These are specified in the First Schedule of TBR. The Cabinet Ministers are called its ‘members’ while the people without the rank of Cabinet Committee are called ‘special invitees’. Ad hoc committees of ministers, including Groups of Ministers (GoMs), may be appointed by the Cabinet or by the Prime Minister for specific matters. They are temporary in nature and are formed from time to time. The Prime Minister constitutes Standing Committees of the Cabinet and sets out the specific functions assigned to them. He can add or reduce the number of committees. The composition of a Cabinet Committee varies from 3 to 8 people. Even Ministers who are not part of the Cabinet can be added to a Cabinet Committee. The members of the Cabinet Committee can be from both the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha.

Get access to all of our verified questions