Press Enter

Share with your friends and help them crack UPSC!

Or Share on


Correct Option is 1 and 2

The Zonal Councils are the statutory bodies.They are established by an Act of the Parliament, that is, States Reorganisation Act of 1956. The act divided the country into five zones (Northern, Central, Eastern, Western and Southern) and provided a zonal council for each zone. Each zonal council consists of the following members (a)Home minister of Central government (b)The Chief Minister of each of the States included in the zone and two other minister of each such state nominated by the Governor. (c)Where any Union Territory is included in the zone, two members from each such territory nominated by the President. The home minister of Central government is the common chairman of the five zonal councils. Each chief minister acts as a vice-chairman of the council by rotation, holding office for a period of one year at a time. Hence statement 1 and 2 are incorrect.

Get access to all of our verified questions