Press Enter

Share with your friends and help them crack UPSC!

Or Share on


Correct Option is 2 Only

The Indian Ocean Tuna Commission (IOTC) is an intergovernmental organization responsible for the management of tuna and tuna-like species in the Indian Ocean. It currently has 31 Member States. India is a member of this Commission. Area of competence: The Indian Ocean and adjacent seas, north of the Antarctic Convergence, in so far as it is necessary to cover such seas for the purpose of conserving and managing stocks. Western boundary of the IOTC from 30 degree East to 20 degree East. Species Underthe IOTC Management 1. Yellowfin tuna 2. Skipjack tuna 3. Bigeye tuna 4.Southern bluefin tuna 5.Longtail tuna 6.Kawakawa 7.Frigate tuna 8.Bullet tuna 9. Narrow-barred Spanish Mackerel 10. Indo-Pacific king mackerel 11.Blue marlin 12.Black marlin 13.Striped marlin 14.Indo-Pacific sailfish 15.Swordfish. In addition, the Commission’s Secretariat collates data on non-target, associated and dependent species affected by tuna fishing operations, i.e., marine turtles, marine mammals, seabirds, sharks and fish species caught incidentally (bycatch).

Get access to all of our verified questions