Press Enter

Share with your friends and help them crack UPSC!

Or Share on


Correct Option is Only 2

The Constitution of India provides for a federal system of government in the country.Article 246 deals with the 7th Schedule of Indian Constitution that mentions three lists named as Union List, State List and Concurrent List which specify the divisions of power between Union and States. Union List consists of (100 subjects), the State List (61 subjects) and the Concurrent List (52 subjects). Both the Centre and the states can make laws on the subjects of the concurrent list, but in case of a conflict, the Central law prevails. The division of powers is in favour of the Centre and highly inequitable from the federal angle. 1. The Union List contains more subjects than the StateList 2. The more important subjects have been included in the Union List 3. The Centre has overriding authority over the Concurrent List 4. The residuary powers have also been left with the Centre ( which are not mentioned in any of the three lists), while in the US, they are vested in the states. Thus, the Constitution has made the Centre very strong. Hence only statement 2 is correct

Get access to all of our verified questions