Press Enter

Share with your friends and help them crack UPSC!

Or Share on


Correct Option is Only 2

Articles 245 to 255 in Part XI of the Constitution deal with the legislative relations between the Centre and the states. The Constitution defines the territorial limits of the legislative powers vested in the Centre and the states 1. The Parliament can make laws for the whole or any part of the territory of India. The territory of India includes the states, the union territories, and any other area for the time being included in the territory of India. 2. The Parliament alone can make ‘extra-territorial legislation’. Thus, the laws of the Parliament are also applicable to the Indian citizens and their property in any part of the world. Hence statement 1 is not correct. 3. A state legislature can make laws for the whole or any part of the state. The laws made by a state legislature are not applicable outside the state, except when there is a sufficient nexus between the state and the object. The laws of Parliament are not applicable in the following areas 1. President can make regulations for the peace, progress and good government of the four Union Territories of Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu. A regulation so made has the same force and effect as an act of Parliament. Hence statement 2 is correct.

Get access to all of our verified questions