Press Enter

Share with your friends and help them crack UPSC!

Or Share on


Correct Option is b only

Article 1 states that India i.e. Bharat shall be a union of states. Union of India includes only states but territory of India includes states, union territories and other acquired territories, Difference between terms “Union” and “Territory”: With reference to the government in India, the two terms namely “Union of India” and “Territory of India” have specific meanings. While the former stands for the states that share federal powers with the Union Governments, the latter include not only the states but all other units like the Union Territories also or, in other words, the territory of India includes a larger area as compared to the union of India. i.e. the territory of India covers the entire trritory over which Indian sovereignty is exercised while Union of India covers only the federal system.

Get access to all of our verified questions