Press Enter

Share with your friends and help them crack UPSC!

Or Share on


Correct Option is 1,2,3 and 4

Under the Constitution, the Parliament of India consists of three parts the President, the Council of States and the House of the People. In 1954, the Hindi names Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha were adopted by the Council of States and the House of People respectively. The Rajya Sabha is the Upper House (Second Chamber or House of Elders) and the Lok Sabha is the Lower House (First Chamber or Popular House). The former represents the states and union territories of the Indian Union, while the latter represents the people of India as a whole. The maximum strength of the Rajya Sabha is fixed at 250, out of which, 238 are to be the representatives of the states and union territories (elected indirectly) and 12 are nominated by the president. Nominated Members The president nominates 12 members to the Rajya Sabha from people who have special knowledge or practical experience in art, literature, science and social service. The rationale behind this principle of nomination is to provide eminent persons with a place in the Rajya Sabha without going through the process of election. It should be noted here that the American Senate has no nominated members. Hence only statement 5 is not correct.

Get access to all of our verified questions