Press Enter

Share with your friends and help them crack UPSC!

Or Share on


Correct Option is Charter Act of 1853

The Charter Act of 1853 was the last of the series of Charter Acts passed by the British Parliament between 1793 and 1853. 1. It separated, for the first time the legislative and executive functions of the Governor-General’s council. It provided for the addition of six new members called legislative councillors to the council. It established a separate Governor-General’s legislative council which came to be known as the Indian (Central) Legislative Council. This legislative wing of the council functioned as a mini Parliament, adopting the same procedures as the British Parliament. 2. The Law member (fourth member) became a full member with the right to vote. The Legislative Council which had six members now had 12 members which were: Governor-General, 1 Commander-in-Chief, 4 members of the Governor-General’s Council, 1 Chief Justice of the Supreme Court at Calcutta, 1 regular judge of the Supreme Court at Calcutta, and 4 representative members drawn from among the company’s servants with at least 10 years tenure, appointed by the local governments of Bengal, Bombay, Madras and North Western Provinces. 3. Legislation for the first time was treated as a special function of the government, requiring special machinery and special process.

Get access to all of our verified questions