Press Enter

Share with your friends and help them crack UPSC!

Or Share on


Correct Option is 1,2 and 3

The provisions of Part IX of the constitution relating to the Panchayats are not applicable to the Fifth Schedule areas. Article 244 (1) of the Constitution of India, the ‘Scheduled Areas’ are defined as such areas as the President may by order declare to be Scheduled Areas. Criteria for declaring Scheduled Area 1.The preponderance of the tribal population 2.Compactness and reasonable size of the area 3.A viable administrative entity such as a district, block or taluk 4.Economic backwardness of the area as compared to neighboring areas These criteria are not spelled out in the Constitution of India but have become well established. At present, there are ten states that have Fifth Schedule Areas (Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Chhatisgarh, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, and Rajasthan). Hence statements 1,2 and 3 are correct.

Get access to all of our verified questions