Press Enter

Share with your friends and help them crack UPSC!

Or Share on


Correct Option is 1 and 3

Articles 79 to 122 in Part V of the Constitution deal with the organisation, composition, duration, officers, procedures, privileges, powers and so on of the Parliament. Under the Constitution, the Parliament of India consists of three parts the President, the Council of States and the House of the People. President of India is not a member of either House of Parliament and does not sit in the Parliament to attend its meetings, he is an integral part of the Parliament. This is because a bill passed by both the Houses of Parliament cannot become law without the President’s assent. President performs certain functions relating to the proceedings of the Parliament like he summons and pro-rogues both the Houses, dissolves the LokSabha, addresses both the Houses, issues ordinances when they are not in session, Indian Parliament is bicameral in nature i.e. that it has two houses. Rajya Sabha is one of those two houses. It is the upper house of the Parliament. Rajya sabha being a permanent House, is not subject to dissolution. Thus only statement 1 and 3 are correct.

Get access to all of our verified questions