Press Enter

Share with your friends and help them crack UPSC!

Or Share on


Correct Option is 1, 2 and 3 only

Addressing the 10th MGC Ministerial Meeting in Bangkok, External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar has emphasised on better connectivity between India and other member countries of the Mekong Ganga Cooperation (MGC) bloc for developing a vibrant economic growth corridor. The MGC, is a sub-regional cooperation organisation comprising India and five ASEAN countries, namely, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand and Vietnam. MGC was launched in 2000 at Laos capital Vientiane. MGC takes its name from the Ganga and the Mekong, the two civilisational rivers in Southeast Asia. The MGC aims at facilitating closer contacts among the people inhabiting these two major river basins and enhancing cooperation in tourism, culture, education, transport and communications. Hence, option (d) is the correct answer. During the recent meeting, the new MGC Plan of Action 2019-2022 was adopted that envisages project-based cooperation in various areas including tourism and culture, education, public health and traditional medicine, agriculture and allied sectors, transport and communication, MSMEs and water resources management.

Get access to all of our verified questions