Press Enter

Share with your friends and help them crack UPSC!

Or Share on


Correct Option is None of the above

Indigenous people of Bangladesh have demanded quick implementation of the Chittagong Hill Tract (CHT) Accord signed in 1997. The government of Bangladesh signed Chittagong Hill Tract (CHT) Accord in 1997 with Parbatya Chattogram Jana Sanghati Samity (PCJSS) representing Jumma indigenous people to end decades of armed conflict in the South Eastern region of the country. Protection of the land rights of Jumma people, rehabilitation, self-government and withdrawal of military from the region were the key points of the accord. Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina was honoured with the UNESCO Peace Prize in 1998 for the accord. Indigenous people’s organisations have accused the government of not implementing the accord but the government claims that most of the provisions of the accord have been implemented. The Chittagong Hill Tracts are an area within the Chattogram Division in southeastern Bangladesh, bordering Myanmar on the southeast, the Indian state of Tripura on the north, Mizoram on the east and Chittagong district on the west. Topographically, the Hill Tracts are the only extensively hilly area in Bangladesh. Goma is the capital of North Kivu province in the eastern Democratic Republic of the Congo. Health officials in DR Congo have recently confirmed the first case of Ebola in the eastern city of Goma, a major transport hub that is home to more than one million people. Uluru, or Ayers Rock, is a massive sandstone monolith in the heart of the Northern Territory’s arid "Red Centre" in Australia. Crowds of tourists are travelling to central Australia to climb Uluru. In 2017, the board of the Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park voted unanimously to end the climb because of the spiritual significance of the site. The ban will come into effect in October. Uluru is listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Get access to all of our verified questions