Press Enter

Share with your friends and help them crack UPSC!

Or Share on


Correct Option is Only a

Principal Features of Government of India Act 1919 Provincial Government Executive: Dyarchy was introduced, i.e., there were two classes of administrators – Executive councillors and ministers. The Governor was the executive head of the province. The subjects were divided into two lists – reserved and transferred. The governor was in charge of the reserved list along with his executive councillors. The subjects under this list were law and order, irrigation, finance, land revenue, etc. The ministers were in charge of subjects under the transferred list. The subjects included were education, local government, health, excise, industry, public works, religious endowments, etc. The ministers were responsible to the people who elected them through the legislature. These ministers were nominated from among the elected members of the legislative council. The executive councillors were not responsible to the legislature, unlike the ministers. The Secretary of State and the Governor-General could interfere in matters under the reserved list but this interference was restricted for the transferred list. Legislature: The size of the provincial legislative assemblies was increased. Now about 70% of the members were elected. There were communal and class electorates. Some women could also vote. The governor’s assent was required to pass any bill. He also had veto power and could issue ordinances also.

Get access to all of our verified questions