Press Enter

Share with your friends and help them crack UPSC!

Or Share on


Correct Option is Ravish Kumar

Indian journalist Ravish Kumar, NDTV India’s senior executive editor, has been awarded the 2019 Ramon Magsaysay Award, for harnessing journalism to give voice to the voiceless. Ramon Magsaysay award is popularly known as Asia’s Nobel Prize. It is given to individuals and organizations in Asia regardless of race, creed, sex, or nationality, who have achieved distinction in their respective fields. (There are some instances where the winners came from Non-Asian countries, but accomplished something in Asia). It is named after Ramon Magsaysay, the third president (1953-57) of Philippines. It was established in 1957 by New York based Rockefeller Brothers Fund (RBF), with the consent of Philippine government. The first Awards were given in 1958. Vinoba Bhave of India was one of the recipients. Awardees are presented with a certificate and a medal. The 6 winners of this year’s award include India’s Ravish Kumar,Myanmar’s Ko Swe Win, Thailand’s Angkhana Neelapajit, Philippines’ Raymundo Pujante Cayabyab and South Korea’s Kim Jong-Ki. The awards will be presented at a ceremony in Manila in September 2019.

Get access to all of our verified questions