List of Important Committees and Commissions in India for UPSC Exams


It is crucial to have knowledge regarding the important Committees And Commissions in India for UPSC exam preparations. Questions are always asked from the various commissions and committees in the Indian economy and polity.

There are multiple committees and commissions set up in India with the objective of careful analysis of a problem plaguing the economy at hand. They also plan and provide suitable practical reforms for rectification of the studied problems. Till date, many reformative steps have been taken on the recommendations by these committees.

Let us study the various important committees and commissions in India the UPSC can ask you about.

List of important committees and Commission Name in India

Committee And Commission NameObjective
Abhijit Sen Committee2002, formed to address formulation of food policy in the long term
Ajit Kumar Committeeformed to formulate policies regarding army pay scales
Athreya Committeecreated to restructure the IDBI
Abid Hussain Committeeformed to formulate policies regarding small scale industries
Balwantrai Mehta Committee (1957)created to reform the Panchayati Raj institutions
Bibek DebroyCreated to restructure railways
Bhurelal Committeeformed to formulate policies on motor vehicle tax
Bimal Jalan Committeeformed to make report on working of the capital market infrastructure institutions (MIIs)
Basel Committeeformed for banking supervision
C. Babu Rajiv Committeeformed to formulate changes in Ship Act 1908 & Ship Trust Act 1963
C. Rangrajan Committeeto assess the methodology for poverty measurement
Chandratre Committee Report (1997)created to address investment management and security analysis
Chandra Shekhar Committeecreated to study and reform the venture capital
Chore Committeecreated to analyze the working of the cash credit system
Deepak Parekh Committeecreated for financing infrastructure through PPP model
Dhanuka Committeecreated to simplify the transfer rules in security markets
Dave Committee (2000)created to reform the unorganized sector’s pension scheme
Goiporia Committeeformed to improve customer service at primary/urban cooperative banks
G. V. Ramakrishna Committeecreated to formulate policy on disinvestment
Hanumant Rao Committeecreated to analyze and formulate policy regarding fertilizers
Jankiramanan Committeecreated to analyze securities transactions
Justice A.K Mathur Commissioncreated to facilitate the 7th Pay Commission
J. R. Varma Committeecreated to reform the current account carry forward practice
Jj. Irani Committeecreated to reform the Company Laws
K. Kasturirangancreated for the purpose of heading the Drafting committee of National Education Policy
Kothari Commissioncreated to analyze and reform the educational sector in India
K V Kamath PanelCreated to study MSME sector
K. C. Chakrabarty Committeecreated to study the financial condition of the Regional Rural Banks
Kelkar Committee (2002)created to reform the tax structure
Khusro Committeecreated to reform the Agricultural Credit System
Kumar Mangalam Birla Reportcreated to facilitate corporate governance
Khan Working Groupcreated for the development of financial institutions
Lodha committeeCreated to suggest reforms for cricket in India
Mahajan Committee (1997)created to facilitate the sugar industry
Mb Shah Committeecreated to scrutinize black money, specifically hoarded abroad
Malhotra Committeecreated to set a framework of the insurance sector
Mashelkar Committee 2002:created to facilitate the auto fuel policy reform
Marathe Committeeformed for a recommendation for the urban co-operative banks
Malegam Committeecreated for changes in the primary market, and repositioning of UTI
Mckinsey Reportcreated to merge 7 associate banks with SBI
Meera Seth Committeecreated to support the development of handlooms
N.N. Vohra Committeecreated to analyze the relations (nexus) of politicians with criminals
Narismhan Committee (1991)created to reform the banking sector
Percy Mistry Committeeformed to make Mumbai an international financial center
Parekh Committeecreated to facilitate infrastructure financing
P. J. Nayak Committeeformed to study the governance of the board of banks; to examine criteria for selection of their directors and their term
Prasad Panelcreated to facilitate international trade and services
R V. Gupta Committeecreated to facilitate reforms in small savings
Raghunath Anant Mashelkar panelCreated to review best technologies for Swachh Bharat Abhiyaan
Rangarajan CommitteeCreated to facilitate computerization Of Banking Industry & Public Sector Disinvestment
Rekhi Committeecreated to facilitate reforms in indirect tax
Radha Krishnan Commission (1948)created to establish the University Grant Commission
Raja Chelliah Committeecreated to facilitate the tax reforms
S P Talwar Committeecreated to restructure weak public sector bank
K. Santhanam Committeecreated to establish CBI
Sarkaria Commissioncreated to facilitate the central-state relationship
Suresh Tendulkar Committeecreated to redefine the poverty line & its calculation formula
Shah Committeecreated to reform non-banking financial companies (NBFC)
Sapta Rishi Committee (July 2002)created to facilitate the development of the domestic tea industry
S.N. Verma Committee (1999)created to restructure the commercial banks
Shivraman Committee (1979)created to establish nabard
Sukhamoy Chakravarty Committeecreated to analyze the functioning of the Indian monetary system
Swaminathan Commission (2004)created to study problems faced by the farmers

Tandon Committeecreated to analyze the bank’s system of working capital financing
Udesh Kohli Committeecreated to assess the fund requirement in the power sector
Tarapore Committee (1997)create to form a report on the capital account convertibility

U.K. Sharma Committeecreated to analyze nabard’s role in RRB
Vasudev Committeecreated to facilitate nbfc sector reforms
Vaghul Committeecreated to study the money market in India
Y B Reddy Committee: 2001created to study the income tax rebates

These were the important Committees And Commissions in India for UPSC examinations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *